GLAAD Media Awards nominate Trek, Chucky, Marvel’s Eternals


Stamets (Anthony Rapp), Sarah (Doug Jones) and Culber (Wilson Cruz) wear their Starfleet uniforms in a scene from Star Trek: Discovery.

Stamets (Anthony Rapp), Sarah (Doug Jones) and Culber (Wilson Cruz) on Star Trek: Discovery.
Photography: Michael Gibson / Paramount +

33. year old DEAR Media Award nominations are here, and—as is often the case– sci-fi and fantasy projects are well represented on the list. The organization called “the most visible annual exhibition of LGBTQ awards in the world ”, the event pays tribute to LGBTQ issues and people in realistic and fantastic environments, as evidenced by the diverse range of nominees.

You can read the full list here; it also includes nods for music, journalism, video games, and an whole Category in Spanish. But of the greatest interest to io9 readers (i.e. nerdy genre stuff!), The winners are: Eternals and Mitchells against machines for “Outstanding Film – Broad Edition”; Batwoman, Doom Patrol, Star Trek: Discovery, i Great girl for “Outstanding Drama Series”; 4400, Chucky, i Y: The last man for “Extraordinary New TV Series;” Streets of Fear trilogy for “Outstanding TV Movie;” and Station eleven for “Extraordinary Limited or Anthological Series.”

There are also a lot of nominees for “An outstanding comic”And“ An Outstanding Graphic Novel / Anthology ”, which we will list in full.

An outstanding comic
Aquaman: Becoming, Brandon Thomas, Diego Olortegui, Skylar Patridge, Scott Koblish, Wade Von Grawbadger, Adriano Lucas, Alex Guimarães, Andworld Design (DC Comics)
Barbalien: The Red Planet, Tate Brombal, Jeff Lemire, Gabriel Hernández Walta, Jordie Bellaire, Aditya Bidikar (Dark Horse Comics)
Crush & Lobo, by Mariko Tamaki, Amancay Nahuelpan, Tamra Bonvillain, Nick Filardi, Ariana Maher (DC Comics)
Dreaming: waking hours, Mr. Willow Wilson, Javier Rodriguez, Nick Robles, MK Perker
Matheus Lopes, Chris Sotomayor, Simon Bowland (DC Comics)
Guardians of the Galaxy, Al Ewing, Juann Cabal, Juan Frigeri, Federico Blee, Cory Petit (Marvel Comics)
Harley Quinn: Animated Series – Eat. Powder! Kill. Tour, Tee Franklin, Max Sarin, Erich Owen, Marissa Louise, Taylor Esposito (DC Comics)
The killer queen, David M. Booher, Claudia Balboni, Harry Saxon, Lucas Gattoni (Dark Horse Comics)
Star Wars: Dr. Afra, authors Alyssa Wong, Minkyu Jung, Ray-Anthony Height, Federico Sabbatini, Victor Olazaba, Rachelle Rosenberg, Joe Caramagna (Marvel Comics)
Superman: Son of Kal-El, Tom Taylor, John Timms, Daniele Di Nicuolo, Steve Pugh, Clayton Henry, Gabe Eltaeb, Hi-Fi, Romulo Fajardo Jr., Steve Buccellato, Dave Sharpe (DC Comics)
Wind, James Tynion IV, Michael Dialynas, Andworld Design (BOOM! Studios)

Exceptional original graphic novel / anthology
Cheer up! Love and pompoms, Crystal Frasier, Val Wise, Oscar O. Jupiter (Oni Press)
DC Pride [anthology] (DC comics)
Eighty days, from AC Esguerra (Archaia / BOOM! Studios)
The girl from the sea, Molly Easter, Maarta Laiho (Graphic / Scholastic)
Girl Haven, by Lilah Sturges, Meaghan Carter, Joamette Gil (Oni Press)
I’m not Starfire, authors Mariko Tamaki, Yoshi Yoshitani, Aditya Bidikar (DC Comics)
Marvel Voices: Pride [anthology] (Marvel Comics)
Outlaw rule, Ben Kahn, Rachel Silverstein, Sam Beck, Jim Campbell (Dark Horse Comics)
The secret of superhuman strength, by Alison Bechdel, Holly Rae Taylor (Mariner Books / HMH)
The life of the shadow, Hiromi Goto, Ann Xu (first second / Macmillan)

The The 33rd annual GLAAD Media Awards will be presented in a couple of ceremonies April 2 in Los Angeles and May 6 at New York City.

Wondering where our RSS feed went? You can pick up a new one here.


Source link

Leave a Comment