Stages of Education in India

Instruction in India follows a uniform design of school training which is known as the 10+2 framework. This framework is being trailed by all Indian States and Union Territories. In any case, not every one of them follows an unmistakable example according to the framework. Let’s discuss several stages included in the Education System of India.

1) Pre Primary Stage – 

Pre-essential training in India is given to youngsters between 3–6 years by Kindergarten, Playway, or Play Schools. It is starting from – Pre-Nursery, Nursery, KG, LKG (Lower Kindergarten), and UKG (Upper Kindergarten). The majority of the pre-essential training in India is given by tuition-based schools. 

2) The Primary Stage – 

Primary instruction in India is offered by both private and government schools, as a rule, comprise of understudies matured between 5 to 12 years. The span of study in this stage is 4-5 years. Normal subjects incorporate English, Hindi, Mathematics, Environmental Science, and General Knowledge. At times additionally named as Elementary Education, it is free in government schools yet it is paid in the tuition-based schools. The Government has made rudimentary training obligatory for kids between the age gathering of years 6 and 14. A large portion of the essential instruction given by elementary schools in India is conferred from class first to class fourth or fifth. A portion of the states/UTs which follow first to fifth class of essential schooling are Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Orissa, Punjab, Chandigarh, Delhi, Karaikal, and Yanam areas of Pondicherry and so on.

3) The Middle Stage –  

The middle phase of training covering 3-4 years of scholarly examination is shaped by the fifth 8th class comprising of understudies matured between 12 to 14 years. The schools which bestow instruction up till eighth class are known with different names like – High School, Senior School. A portion of the states/UTs which follow fifth – seventh class of center stage are Assam, Goa, Gujarat, Karnataka, Kerala, Dadra, and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Lakshadweep and so on A portion of the states/UTs which follow the sixth – eighth class of center stage are Arunachal Pradesh, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Delhi and so forth 

4) The Secondary Stage – 

The secondary stage of schooling covering 2-3 years of scholarly investigation begins with classes eighth tenth. comprising of understudies matured between 14-16 years. The schools which confer training up till tenth class are known as Secondary Schools, High Schools, Senior Schools and so on A portion of the states/UTs which follow eighth – tenth class of optional stage are Goa, Gujarat, Karnataka, Kerala, Dadra, and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Lakshadweep and so on A portion of the states/UTs which follow ninth – tenth class of auxiliary stage is Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Delhi, Karaikal district of Pondicherry and so on 

5) Senior Secondary Stage – 

Senior Secondary Education in India is of just 2 years, there is consistency in this degree of instruction as far as to term and classes, for example, every one of the States/UTs follow this 10+2 example. Senior Secondary Schools in India incorporate classes eleventh to twelfth. comprising understudies matured between 16-18 years. At this degree of schooling, understudies have the opportunity to pick their favored stream and subjects. They can seek after Arts, Commerce, Science (clinical and non-clinical). The schools which give training up till twelfth class are ordinarily known as Senior Secondary Schools or Higher Secondary Schools. A few colleges and schools likewise offer the instruction of these classes. 

6) Undergraduate Stage – 

Undergraduate instruction in India is for 3-4 years. Undergrad phase of instruction is otherwise called advanced education in India. Understudies concentrating in this level, for the most part, start their schooling from 18 onwards. According to one gauge, 88% of undergrad instruction is given by Colleges in India. A greater part of the college classes of 3 years length have a place with the field of expressions, humanities, science, and so on and the greater part of 4 years of the span has a place with the field of horticulture, designing, drug sciences innovation. In any case, there are courses having a place with fields of engineering, law, and medication whose length is 5 years. 

7) Postgraduate Stage – 

Postgraduate instruction in India is for 2-3 years. Postgraduate phases of courses are known as Masters’s courses or Doctorate courses. Bosses courses are generally of 2 years length and doctorate (research) courses are of 3 years span. Additionally alluded to as advanced education, 56% of post-graduate schooling is bestowed through universities. PG training in India is generally given by colleges in India. PG training provides food to a great extent to a particular field or sub-field of any favored discipline. Along these lines, one can work in any of the favored subjects at this level. The individuals who are keen on directing huge measures of examination work seek after these courses. 

Distance Education in India – 

Distance schooling given by organizations is constrained by the Distance Education Council of India. Distance training is useful to individuals who can’t join standard schools or universities. At the school level, the National Institute of Open Schooling offers training through distance learning. While, at the school or college level, Open colleges give distance training. Distance training can likewise be sought after online by means of the web. Some like the Birla Institute of Technology and Science (BITS) gives online instruction through – BITS Virtual University. 

Leave a Comment